Fair Housing Law

The Civil Rights Act of 1866 provides that all citizens of the United States shall have the same right, in every State and territory, as is enjoyed by white citizens thereof to inherit, purchase, lease, sell, hold, and convey real and personal property.

In Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (the Fair Housing Law), Congress declared a national policy of providing fair housing throughout the United States. This law makes discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, handicap, or familial status illegal in connection with the sale or rental of most housing and any vacant land offered for residential construction use.

Housing Discrimination Is Against The Law

The Federal Fair Housing Law makes it illegal for anyone to refuse to rent, sell or make a housing loan to you because of your race, color, religion, sex, national origin, handicap or familial status.

Watch for the Warning Signs:

  • An apartment manager or owner refuses to rent to you
  • A builder or a developer refuses to sell you a home
  • A lending company refuses to give you a mortgage to purchase a home, although you qualify
  • A real estate firm treats you differently than others
  • You are steered to or away from a neighborhood which is primarily composed of one racial or ethnic group

What Can You Do?

  • Fair Housing Discrimination forms can be downloaded here or picked up at:
    West Valley City Housing Authority
    4522 W 3500 S
    West Valley City, UT 84120
  • Office hours are Monday to Thursday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.