Show All Answers
Yes and no.
The following plans do need to be stamped:
The following plans generally do not need to be stamped:
Two complete sets must be submitted.
Generally only the licensed general contractor is required to pull a building permit. The other subcontractors that we regulate will be on our contractor verification form (electrical, plumbing, mechanical). Note: If people contract to work on your house you should make sure they are licensed. We can do that for you.
Almost all contractors must be licensed with the State of Utah. The State of Utah requires that we confirm that the General Contractor/Builder, Electrical Contractor, Plumbing Contractor and the Mechanical Contractor are licensed. If you hire a General Contractor or Construction Company to build your home, it is their responsibility to assure West Valley City through the Contractor Verification Form that the sub-contractors are licensed.
If you are the owner and builder you are not required to have a license and you may do all the work yourself.
If you do not own the lot, but only are the party in a pending home sale, certain types of sweat equity are not allowed by State Law. You may not perform electrical, mechanical (heating and air conditioning) or plumbing, in the home you hope to buy. You can perform most other items in the construction of the new home, including rough framing, concrete and drywall.
Whenever a building is moved from a lot/site/town/county to another parcel of property, the moved building (house) must conform to all current codes as if it was a new building.
Manufactured homes must be set on permanent foundations. The foundation must be designed and stamped by an engineer. Some other things that are required are:
The fees due for Move-on Homes are $232 plus garage permit cost and impact fees.
See the Building Permit Application (PDF) and see * by required signature.
Generally no as long as the existing construction is in compliance with the codes that were in effect at the time your building was built. This is almost never a problem unless a real life safety threat is apparent (like dilapidated equipment or missing guardrails).
Yes. Reroofing requires a building permit and must comply with section R907 of the International Residential Code. We need to make sure the right building materials are used in the reroofing process. Also we need to make sure your roofing contractor has a current State contractor license. The cost of a reroofing permit for a single family dwelling is $53.00
Yes, a permit is required. A truss diagram and truss detail are also required. The permit fee is at present a flat fee of $111.30
No, trusses are built to withstand a buildup of approximately 36 inches of snow. The risk of back and limb injuries from falling off a roof outweigh the necessity of removing the snow. However, if the buildup of snow starts to exceed the 30 inch level, we would suggest you call in a professional roofer to remove the snow.
Before you demolish a structure you must secure a demolition permit from our Building Inspection Division. The permit is required by section 106.1 of the Uniform Building Code. The permit process accomplishes four things:
Contact the Asbestos Coordinator at the Division of Environmental Health of the Salt Lake City/County Health Department at 385-468-3914.
Request an Asbestos check and a pre-demolition inspection. The Asbestos contractor you hire must be approved by the State. The Asbestos Coordinator will inspect your structure to determine if your structure contains friable asbestos and/or appliances or devices with hazardous materials.
The coordinator will help you obtain an approval from the State Division of Air Quality for your demolition permit. Once the State Division of Air Quality has confirmation that no asbestos or hazardous materials exists, State Division of Air Quality will notify West Valley City.
You must request termination of utilities as follows:
If you have further questions about demolitions call Misty Jenkins at 801-963-3475
In accordance with State law, a building permit can only be issued to a licensed contractor. If a permit application is submitted for the construction or alteration of a building, only a general contractor need be listed on the application at the time of permit issuance. At the time of permit issuance, the license number of the general contractor must be verified.
Any building inspector that issues a building permit to an unlicensed contractor may be disciplined by the State of Utah. The State expects the municipal inspectors to make a reasonable attempt to keep unlicensed subcontractors from working within the municipality. Our Building Inspection Division does this by requiring a completed subcontractor verification form (available at our permit counter or through this web page).
The form shall include the names of the general contractor, mechanical contractor, plumbing contractor, electrical contractor- accurate license numbers and original signatures from each of these four primary contractors. This is how we verify that only licensed contractors work in West Valley City, as required by State law. If you wish to discuss this further, contact Ed Domian, Chief Building Official at 801-963-3276.
The subcontractor form and its license numbers will be verified by Building Inspection staff. This form must be submitted prior to power clearance and issuance of any Certificate of Occupancy.
Note: State law allows a property owner to build a single family dwelling for their own use (not for sale). No contractor would be required, therefore, no contractor verification form would be required. You must own the property in order to obtain a permit for the construction of a single-family dwelling, as an owner/builder.
West Valley City requires all new single-family dwellings to have landscaped yards within 12 months of occupancy.
The landscape agreement verifies who will be responsible for installing the landscaping. Sometimes the contractor prefers to provide the landscaping as part of the sale. Sometimes the owner is responsible for the installation of the landscaping. In either case, the landscape agreement is required.
It was designed by the City Planning and Zoning Division, and provides the city with a guarantee that the landscaping will be installed within one year of occupancy of the single-family dwelling, in accordance with the West Valley City Municipal Code.
Questions concerning landscaping requirements should be directed to a City Planner at 801-963-3282. The landscape agreement is required at the time of final inspection.
The cost of the required building permit will double as a penalty. You could incur daily penalties until the structure is brought into compliance. You may have to demolish the structure if it is found that the structure is located on your property in violation of existing city ordinances. See more information on who needs a permit.